MIX, College of Arts & Media CU Denver, 2014. Photo Steve Peterson

About the Awards

The annual Business for the Arts Awards celebrate innovative partnerships, generous philanthropy, creative businesses and stellar leadership across the state. Over 130 companies and individuals have been recognized for their inspiring arts and business partnerships. Honorees are celebrated at an entertaining awards luncheon attended by 700 key business, arts, and political leaders at the Denver Performing Arts Complex.

The Business for the Arts Awards Luncheon on March 13 is sold out. If you’re interested in getting on the waiting list, please contact main@cbca.org or call 720-428-6720.

2018 Business for the Arts Awards Honorees

The Business for the Arts Awards Honorees are exemplary organizations that have gone above and beyond to support the arts and creative industries.

  • Bellco Credit Union has a strong and sustained commitment to philanthropy in the arts, including Denver Art Museum’s Free for Kids program.
  • Dazzle, Denver’s premier jazz venue and restaurant, has been supporting musicians, arts education and community causes of all kinds for over 10 years.
  • Delta Dental of Colorado enhances cultural vitality through sponsorship, programming and employee engagement, bringing art and smiles to faces across the state.
  • Downtown Artery is a creative hub in Fort Collins that supports a community of creators, including a performance venue, gallery space, classrooms, studios and a café.
  • Gensler, the international architecture firm, has made a lasting impact on Access Gallery through a decade of steadfast, growing and multi-faceted involvement.
  • RTD & City of Aurora, in partnership, made an extraordinary and exemplary investment in public art with the creation of the light rail’s R Line.
  • Stanley Marketplace opened its doors in Aurora with innovative arts partnerships ranging from experimental immersive theater experiences to pop-up art galleries.
  • Xcel Energy supports outreach and access to arts and cultural organizations across Colorado through philanthropy and an extensive employee volunteer program.

EY Next Wave Leadership Award

The EY Next Wave Leadership Award honors rising professionals who are leading the future of our cultural community.

  • Kate Perdoni, Producer of Arts District, Rocky Mountain PBS, has spearheaded cultural growth in Colorado Springs through her leadership of the Pikes Peak Arts Council and activation of DIY venues and pop-up events.

John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award

Named for CBCA’s founding chairman, the John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award recognizes a lifetime of extraordinary leadership and a legacy of support for the arts.

  • Hal Logan, Founder & Director, Basic Materials and Services LLC, has exemplified profound and dedicated cultural leadership at Bonfils-Stanton Foundation,  Denver Botanic Gardens, Denver Museum of Nature & Science, Scientific & Cultural Facilities District and more.

Colorado Attorneys for the Arts (CAFTA): Volunteer Attorney of the Year

New in 2018: The Volunteer Attorney of the Year recognizes an outstanding attorney who has provided pro bono legal services to Colorado creatives and advanced CBCA’s Colorado Attorneys for the Arts program.

  • Caroline R. Kert, Attorney, Law Offices of Daniel T. Goodwin, has provided pro bono legal services to artists, community outreach for CAFTA and supports the creative vitality of Colorado through her volunteerism.

Leadership Arts Alumni Network (LAAN): Cultural Leadership Award

New in 2018 as part of the Business for the Arts Awards: The Cultural Leadership Award recognizes an outstanding graduate of CBCA’s Leadership Arts program who had made an impact on arts and culture in Colorado.

  • Cecily Cullen, Managing Director & Curator, Center for Visual Art, Metropolitan State University of Denver (Leadership Arts 2011), has been an enthusiastic advocate for the arts through her years of service, mentorship and community engagement.

Past Business for the Arts Awards Winners

TRG Arts
Jackson Stevens
Sage Hospitality
Tim Schultz
Noble Energy

Share Denver
Will Chan
Crestone Mercantile
Illegal Pete’s
Former Mayor, Bob Murphy

Boulder Digital Arts
General Services Administration
Katie Kruger
Janus Capital Group
Bill Marino

Arrow Electronics
Robert & Judi Newman
Gates Family Foundation

Chuck Morris
Denver International Airport
I Heart Denver Store
Newmont Mining Corporation

Aspen Skiing Company
Frederic C. Hamilton
The Westin Denver Downtown

First Western Trust Bank
Platte River Ventures
Walter Isenberg

No Award — Created the John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award

4240 Architecture, Inc.
Cathey Finlon
East West Partners, Riverfront Park
Pinnacol Assurance
Westword Newspaper
Anchor Center for Blind Children
GE Johnson Construction
Kaiser Permanente
ripcord, LLC
Barker Rinker Seacat Architecture
Corporex Colorado & Mile High Development — Museum Residences
Gates Corporation
Gunnison Country Times
Mercy Regional Medical Center
Cleworth Architecural Legacy Project of the Denver
Architectural Foundation
Continuum Partners — Belmar Development
St. Mary Land & Exploration Company
Zeppelin Development — Taxi

Alpine Bank
Ellen Bruss
Fine Arts Foundation
JohnstonWells Public Relations
Lockheed Martin
Mark Falcone
Pinyon Mortgage Corporation
Carol Ann and Gary Hixon
Garlic Mike’s Italian Cuisine
Lowry Foundation
Pueblo Bank & Trust
Berger Funds
City of Englewood
Jim Copenhaver
JohnstonWells Public Relations
Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce
Lester “Dusty” Loo
Northern Trust Bank
Starz Encore Group
Wells Fargo
Daily Camera
East West Partners, Riverfront Park
John Hickenlooper, Wynkoop Brewing Company

Brookfield Properties
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Kathryn Paul, Kaiser Permanente
The Denver Post
Downtown Denver’s Courtyard by Marriott
Tesser LLC
Colorado National Bank
Penguin Studio Press Inc
The Peak 96.5 FM Radio
The Westin Hotel
Allegro Coffee
Colorado Springs Gazette
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Senn Lewis Visciano & Strahle PC
Target Stores
Boogies Diner, Aspen
Estes Park Trail-Gazette
Public Service Company of Colorado
Syntex Chemicals
The Denver Foundation

Bank One
CW Electronics
Reynelda Muse, KCNC-TV
Telluride Times-Journal
Wilson/Johnson Creative
Charles M. Schayer & Company
Douglas County Education
McClain Finlon Advertising
Minorco USA
NationsWay Transport
Norwest Bank
Silvertree Hotel, Aspen/Snowmass
The Mission Viejo Company
United Airlines
Blue Cross & Blue Shield of
First National Bank in Trinidad
The Denver Post
The Little Nell
The Rocky Mountain News
US West
Amoco Production Company
Brooks Brothers
Denver Area Honda Dealers
First National Bank of Wray
Steamboat Ski & Resort Corporation

Associated General Contractors of Colorado
Fort Collins Coloradoan
Robinson Dairy Inc
US West
West Pines Hospital
Dauer Architects
First Interstate Bank of Denver
Newmont Mining Co.
Security Life
Apache Corporation
Continental Airlines
Everitt Companies
Martin Marietta
Phelps Inc
West Pines Hospital
American TV &
Communications Corp
Aspen Skiing Company
Otero Savings, Colorado Springs
Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company
Target Stores
Wano/Coors Company Inc