In the last two decades, CBCA has graduated over 700 people from the Leadership Arts program. These individuals have served in hundreds and hundreds of boards, committees and volunteer roles. They stand as models of civic engagement and cultural participation.

The Cultural Leadership Award is an initiative of the Leadership Arts Alumni Network (LAAN). This award recognizes Leadership Arts alumni who have made and/or continue to make an impact on arts & culture in Colorado.

Submit a nomination for the 2017 Cultural Leadership Award! Nominations are due by Friday, March 17. 


“This award is a testament to the hard work nonprofit arts leaders put into the community everyday. As arts and cultural professionals, we dedicate our lives to support and fight for the arts. We do this knowing that without the arts we lose our ability to express the good and bad that humanity has to offer this world.” – Chris Zacher, Levitt Pavilion Denver (2015 Award Recipient)

Nominees can have made a positive impact on the arts in a variety of ways, including board service, philanthropy, advocacy or volunteerism. Both emerging and established leaders are encouraged to apply. The recipients are selected by an independent panel of Leadership Arts graduates and participants.

All nominees will be notified by April 7 if they have been selected as a 2017 Award Recipients. The 2017 Cultural Leadership Award will be presented at the Leadership Arts Graduation Luncheon on May 10 at the McNichols Building. Recipients receive a CBCA Printfolio featuring four original prints by Colorado artists Theresa Haberkorn, Mark Lunning, Jim Milmoe and Tony Ortega.

Read about the 2015 Award Recipients and the 2016 Award Recipients.

“CBCA’s Leadership Arts program provides a unique platform to understanding the state of the arts in Denver and Colorado while connecting in a meaningful way with your surrounding communities, socially engaged arts organizations and colleagues from a diversity of backgrounds.” – Lisa Gedgaudas, Denver Arts & Venues (2015 Award Recipient)