iZCALLi performing at 2018 Business for the Arts Awards Luncheon. Photo Credit: Amanda Tipton

CBCA is thrilled to announce ten honorees for its 2019 Business for the Arts Awards, the only statewide event honoring companies and individuals for their outstanding partnerships and engagement with the arts.

All honorees will be celebrated at the Business for the Arts Awards Luncheon, presented by EY and PNC Bank, on Tuesday, March 12, 2019 in the Seawell Grand Ballroom at the Denver Performing Arts Complex.  Over 700 corporate, cultural and civic leaders will attend this inspiring, arts-infused event.

“The 2019 Business for the Arts Awards Honorees demonstrate the power of arts and creativity to advance Colorado’s economy and strengthen community vitality,” says Christin Crampton Day, CBCA executive director. “Every year, we are impressed by the level of philanthropy, volunteer leadership and innovative arts/business partnerships occurring all over the state.”

2019 Business for the Arts Awards Honorees

The Business for the Arts Awards Honorees are exemplary organizations that have gone above and beyond to support the arts and creative industries.

  • Bank of America has a deep commitment to philanthropy in the arts, including sponsoring major exhibits at Denver Art Museum, grants for art conservation and their Museums on Us program.
  • City of Lakewood collaborated to create the 40 West ArtLine, a four-mile walking and biking arts experience, creatively connecting parks and neighborhoods to transit, businesses, and other amenities.
  • Colorado Harvest Company, a premium cannabis production and retail company, was a founding sponsor of Denver’s Levitt Pavilion and continues to integrate the arts into their facilities.
  • Dairy Block, developed by McWHINNEY, Sage Hospitality and Grand American, Inc., is a unique micro-district in downtown Denver, boasting over 700 pieces of art featuring 30 Colorado artists, curated by NINE dot ARTS.
  • The Independence Center, an independent living center that serves people with disabilities in El Paso County, has forged unique relationships with arts organizations to lift up the voices of the people they serve.
  • Kaiser Permanente Colorado’s recent public health awareness campaign included powerful murals promoting the importance of mental health throughout Colorado Springs and Pueblo.

EY Next Wave Leadership Award

The EY Next Wave Leadership Award honors rising professionals who are leading the future of our cultural community.

  • Armando Silva, Artist/Gallery Owner, Artmando Studio is an artist, teacher and performer based in Greeley who supports the community through performance paintings, engaging murals and an annual hip hop dance festival.

PNC Bank Cultural Leadership Award

The PNC Bank Cultural Leadership Award recognizes an outstanding graduate of CBCA’s Leadership Arts program who has made an impact on arts and culture in Colorado.

  • Meredith Hutson, Founder and Executive Director, Presenting Denver (Leadership Arts 2012) is a tireless volunteer leader and arts advocate, furthering Denver as an innovative dance hub through Presenting Denver, community partnerships and volunteer service.

Volunteer Attorney of the Year

The Volunteer Attorney of the Year recognizes an outstanding attorney who has provided pro bono legal services to Colorado creatives and advanced CBCA’s Colorado Attorneys for the Arts (CAFTA) program.

  • Dave Ratner, Principal, Creative Law Network has dedicated his legal practice and volunteer service to the creative industries, including stewarding the development and growth of CBCA’s Colorado Attorneys for the Arts program across Colorado.

John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award

Named for CBCA’s founding chairman, the John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award recognizes a lifetime of extraordinary leadership and a legacy of support for the arts.

  • Mariner Kemper, Chairman, President and CEO, UMB Financial Corporation has carried on UMB’s comprehensive and sustained commitment to the cultural sector through his philanthropy, leadership, business practices and personal passion for the arts.

The 2019 Business for the Arts Awards Honorees, EY Next Wave Leadership Award, PNC Bank Cultural Leadership Award and John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award were selected by an independent panel of arts, business and community leaders.

  • J.J. Ament, CEO, Metro Denver Economic Development Corporation
  • Liz Gardner, Social Investment Representative, Xcel Energy
  • Jim Johnston, Marketing Director, Bellco Credit Union
  • Hal Logan, past John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award Honoree
  • Jill Robinson, President and CEO, TRG Arts

The Volunteer Attorney of the Year Award was selected by the CAFTA Advisory Committee.

CBCA thanks our generous sponsors who make this event possible. Corporate sponsors include EY, PNC Bank, Bellco Credit Union, HealthOne and Xcel Energy. In-kind and media partners are CBS4, ColoradoBiz and The Publishing House.