Congratulations to the Winners of the 2015 Business for the Arts Awards

DSC_0989 copy

These five winners were chosen from fifteen finalists and announced during the arts-infused Business for the Arts Awards luncheon on March 11, 2015 to a sold-out ballroom at the Denver Performing Arts Complex.

2015 Business for the Arts Awards Winners

Create Award acknowledges an outstanding, for-profit creative business that has made a significant impact on Colorado’s creative economy

  • Boulder Digital Arts is a vital resource for digital artists and creative professionals through workshops, classes and events in this ever-changing field.

Impact Award highlights the innovative use of the arts to propel business success, programs that engage employees with creativity and other community activities that support arts and business partnerships

John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award recognizes a business sector individual who has made significant contributions to advancing arts and culture in Colorado

  • Bill Marino spearheaded the creation and development of the Lakewood–West Colfax creative corridor.

EY Next Wave Leadership Award (NEW IN 2015) honors rising professionals who are leading the future of our cultural community

  • Katie Kruger galvanizes young professionals’ involvement in the arts through board service and leadership of Cross-Cultured

Philanthropy Award honors exemplary corporate citizenship and generosity to arts and cultural projects and organizations

  • Janus Capital Group’s innovative Student Art Buying Program engages students with the creative economy and the value of art in their schools


CCP_0831 copy

Janus and CCAF at lecturn CCP_0897 copy

2015 Awards Judge

  • Jandel T. Allen-Davis, MD, Vice President, Government and External Relations, Kaiser Permanente
  • Joe Blake, Chancellor Emeritus, Colorado State University
  • Margaret Hunt, Director, Colorado Creative Industries
  • Rich Kylberg, Vice President, Global Marketing & Communications, Arrow Electronics
  • Sacha Millstone, Senior Vice President, Investments, The Millstone Evans Group of Raymond James & Associates

Also at the luncheon, Governor John Hickenlooper received the 2015 National Award for State Arts Leadership given by Americans for the Arts and The United State Conference of Mayors. The award was presented by Robert L. Lynch, President & CEO of Americans for the Arts.

 DSC_0863 copy  DSC_0346 copy  CCP_0758 copy

Guests at the Awards Luncheon enjoyed pre-entertainment from Denver Museum of Nature & Science and Frequent Flyers Productions. Local band Shady EldersCurious Theatre CompanyCentral City Opera and Denver Center for the Performing Arts’ Broadway touring production of STOMP provided powerful and entertaining performances during the event. In addition, the Ladies Fancywork Society “yarn bombed” the luncheon, by covering the ballroom and several guests with crocheted items.

Thank you to our 2015 Sponsors



2015 Business for the Arts Awards Finalists

Create Award

Impact Award

John Madden, Jr. Leadership Award

  • Dana Crawford
  • Bill Marino 
  • Craig Ponzio

EY Next Wave Leadership Award (NEW IN 2015)

  • Ely Corliss
  • Katie Kruger
  • Ben McConahey 

Philanthropy Award